FREDERICK E. KIDDER: director, Graduate School of Librarianship, University of Puerto Rico, effective July 1, 1969; formerly of Graduate School of Library Science, University of Illinois.

JOHN C. LANE: vice chairman, SUNY at Buffalo.

WILLIAM F. LEVANTROSSER: chairman, Hofstra University.

JOHN P. LEWIS: dean, Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University; formerly minister director, U.S. AID Mission in India.

HERMAN D. LUJAN: chairman, University of Kansas.

EARL A. NEHRING, associate chairman, University of Kansas.

WILLIAM R. Nelson: professor and chairman, Memphis State University; formerly of United States Air Force Academy.

ROY OLTON: chairman, Western Michigan University.

WILLIAM J. PARENTE: associate dean of faculty, Antioch College.

GENE E. RAINEY: chairman, University of North Carolina, Asheville; formerly of Ohio State University.

HARRY HOWE RANSOM: chairman, Vanderbilt University effective September 1969.

JOHN ROMANI: professor and vice-chancellor, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee; formerly of University of Michigan.

ROBERT SCIGLIANO: acting director, Ph.D.-J.D. program, administered jointly by the department of political science and the school of law, SUNY at Buffalo.

JEROME N. SLATER: director, Undergraduate Studies, SUNY at Buffalo.

REED M. SMITH: professor and chairman, Wright State University.

JAMES K. SOURS: president, Southern Oregon College.

JOSEPH TANENHAUS: chairman, SUNY at Stony Brook.

Andrew C. Tuttle: chairman, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, effective July 1, 1969.

THEODORE M. VESTAL: resident director, New York State Education Department Educational Resources Center, New Delhi, India; formerly associate dean, Briarcliff College.

SHERMAN WYMAN: director of NPA Studies, University of Kansas; formerly director, Bureau of Governmental and Social Research, University of Denver.

M. CRAWFORD YOUNG: chairman, University of Wisconsin; currently associate dean, Graduate School, University of Wisconsin.

## PROMOTIONS (with new rank)

CARLOS A. ASTIZ, Graduate School of Public Affairs, SUNY at Albany: associate professor.

HENRY S. BIENEN, Princeton University: associate professor.

Peter Bishop, University of Toronto: assistant professor.

GEORGE B. BRECKENRIDGE, McMaster University: assistant professor.

WINBERG CHAI, University of Redlands: associate professor.

HARRY M. CHASE, Jr., University of Nevada: professor.

CLEO CHERRYHOLMES, Michigan State University: associate professor.

RONALD H. CHILCOTE, University of California, Riverside: associate professor.

STEPHEN F. COHEN, Princeton University: assistant professor.

JOHN S. COLMAN, dean, Scarborough College, University of Toronto: professor.

RICHARD DEKMEJIAN, SUNY at Binghamton: associate professor.

JEDON A. EMENHISER, Utah State University: professor.

BAHRAM FARZANEGAN, University of North Carolina, Asheville: associate professor.

JOSEPH P. FORD, University of New Hampshire: assistant professor.

RICHARD B. FRIEDMAN, SUNY at Buffalo: associate professor.

THOMAS H. GREENE, Michigan State University: associate professor.

MARTIN GRUBERG, Wisconsin State University, Oshkosh: professor.

CLARKE HAGENSICK, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee: professor.

FREDA HAWKINS, University of Toronto: assistant professor.

GEORGE HEIMAN, University of Toronto: associate professor.

Summer 1969 423

ALAN C. ISAAK, Western Michigan University: associate professor.

HENRY J. JACEK, McMaster University: assistant professor.

WILLARD R. JOHNSON, Massachusetts Institute of Technology: associate professor.

ROGER E. KANET, University of Kansas: associate professor, effective Fall, 1969.

DAVID S. KEENE, Indiana University (Pennsylvania): professor.

SAMUEL S. KIM, Monmouth College (New Jersey): associate professor.

EVERETT C. LADD, University of Connecticut: professor.

JOHN LADENBURGER, Drake University: assistant professor.

LEON N. LINDBERG, University of Wisconsin: professor.

EDGAR LITT, University of Connecticut: professor.

THEODORE J. LOWI, University of Chicago: professor.

HERMAN D. LUJAN, University of Kansas: associate professor.

JOHN MANLEY, University of Wisconsin: associate professor.

ELLEN MICKIEWICZ, Michigan State University: associate professor.

NORMAN N. MILLER, Michigan State University: associate professor.

ROBERT W. MILLER, Wayne State University: associate professor.

ROBERT W. Mollan, Utah State University: associate professor.

RUTH SCHACHTER MORGENTHAU, Brandeis University: professor.

ERIC NORDLINGER, Brandeis University: assistant professor, effective academic year beginning 1970-71.

ELINOR OSTROM, Indiana University: associate professor.

DOROTHY A. PALMER, Indiana University (Pennsylvania): associate professor.

FRANK PEERS, University of Toronto: associate professor.

JAMES S. ROBERTS, University of Nevada: professor.

GEORGE K. ROMOSER, University of New Hampshire: professor.

I. MILTON SACKS, Brandeis University: professor.

STUART A. SCHEINGOLD, University of Wisconsin: associate professor.

EUGENE B. SKOLNIKOFF, Massachusetts Institute of Technology: professor, effective July 1, 1969.

JEROME N. SLATER, SUNY at Buffalo: associate professor.

HAROLD J. SPAETH, Michigan State University: professor.

MARVIN SUMMERS, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee: professor.

DAVID W. TARR, University of Wisconsin: professor.

MARK TESSLER, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee: assistant professor.

H. PRESTON THOMAS, Utah State University: associate professor.

JAMES E. TITUS, University of Kansas: professor, effective Fall, 1969.

ROBERT D. TOMASEK, University of Kansas: professor.

RICHARD H. ULLMAN, Princeton University: professor.

H. Frank Way, University of California, Riverside: professor.

JANET M. WENNIK, Monmouth College (New Jersey): assistant professor.

HOWARD J. WIARDA, University of Massachusetts: associate professor.

FRANCIS M. WILHOIT, Drake University: professor.

JONG HAE Yoo, Eastern Michigan University: assistant professor.

M. CRAWFORD YOUNG, University of Wisconsin: professor.

ORAN R. YOUNG, Princeton University: associate professor.

JAMES ZOETEWEY, Hope College: assistant professor.

## RETIREMENTS AND RESIGNATIONS

KARL O'LESSKER, has resigned as associate professor of politics at Hollins College to become legislative assistant to Senator Vance Hartke (D.-Ind.).

CLAUD H. RICHARDS, Jr., has resigned as head of the department and will continue as professor, Wake Forest University.