Notes and Announcements

R. Allan Purdy wins prestigious award

*Photo. Caption: Dr. Purdy (on right) receives award from Dr. Silberstein.

In June 2005, the American Headache Society awarded Dr. R. Allan Purdy the Arnold P. Friedman Distinguished Clinician Research Award for his extensive work in resident and continuing medical education, in the field of headache. Dr. Purdy is a Professor of Medicine (Neurology) and the head of the neurology division at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia. He is also chief of the neurology service at Queen Elizabeth Health Sciences Centre in Halifax.



Michael Strong receives Sheila Essey Award

At the American Academy of Neurology annual meeting in April, Dr. Michael Strong received the Sheila Essey Award for research in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). Dr. Strong is a professor and co-chair of the department of clinical neurological sciences at the University of Western Ontario's Schulich School of Medicine and director of the ALS clinic at the London Health Sciences Centre.

Jack Antel Recognized for Multiple Sclerosis Research

The American Academy of Neurology recognized Dr. Jack Antel at their annual meeting in April. Dr. Antel, received the John Dystel Prize for his research in neuroimmunology, helping to spur further research in T-cell suppression in MS. He is a professor of neurology and neurosurgery at McGill University and the Montreal Neurological Institute and Hospital.

Jason Barton Wins Norman Geschwind Prize

Dr. Jason Barton received the Norman Geschwind prize in behavioral neurology at the American Academy of Neurology annual meeting in April. Dr. Barton, director of neuroophthalmology at the University of British Columbia, won the prize for his research on face perception, voluntary control in eye movement and other studies involving cognitive aspects of eye movements.