The Australasian Journal of Special Education

Editor

DAVID EVANS

Faculty of Arts, Education & Social Science

University of Western Sydney

Bankstown Campus

Locked Bag 1797

PENRITH SOUTH DC 1797 NSW Australia

Telephone: (02) 9772 6552 Facsimile: (02) 9772 6738

e-mail: d.evans@uws.edu.au

Associate Editors

MICHAEL LAWSON School of Education

The Flinders University of South Australia

GPO Box 2100

ADELAIDE SA 5001 Telephone: (08) 2012442 Editorial Assistant & desk-top publishing

JENNIFER LEES

University of Western Sydney

CHANTELLE RISSIK

University of Western Sydney

KERI WILTON

Department of Education University of Auckland

AUCKLAND New Zealand

New Zealand Telephone: Auck 737999

Editorial Consultants

SANDRA BOCHNER

Macquarie University, NSW

MARK CARTER

Macquarie University
YOLA CENTER

Macquarie University, NSW DAVID CHARD

University of Texas at Austin, USA PHILIP FOREMAN

University of Newcastle, NSW LORETTA GIORCELLI

Visiting Professor BOB HENDERSON

University of Illinois, USA

STEPHEN HOUGHTON

University of Western Australia KEN HOWELL

Western Washington University, USA

TOM LIPSCOMB

Springwood, QLD BARTON MACARTHUR University of Auckland, NZ MEREDITH MARTIN

Sydney, NSW MEREDITH RAWLINGS Toowoomba, QLD

DON RICE

University of Southern Queensland

DEBORAH SIMMONS University of Oregon, USA DONALD STEDMAN

University of North Carolina, USA

JEFF SIGAFOOS Sydney University, NSW

ROBERT STROM
Arizona State University, USA
KEVIN WHELDALL
Macquarie University, NSW
PAT WHITE-DAVIDSON

University of Southern Queensland

Founding Editor: JEFF BAILEY, University of Western Sydney, Nepean and Children's Hospital Educational Research Institute.

The AJSE is published twice a year. Membership subscription to AASE or NZSEA includes two issues of AJSE. Other subscriptions: A\$40.00 (+GST) Individual; A\$60.00 (+GST) Institution; Student concession A\$35.00 (+GST) for two years, current student number required. Address subscription enquiries to the Editor. Manuscripts for publication, advertising enquiries, books and other materials for review all should be addressed to the Editor.

Australian Association of Special Education Incorporated

National Executive

WENDY CASTLES (VIC) President NANCY DEVLIN (NT) Vice President

ROS GREIG (VIC) Treasurer

Address

(National Executive) (Membership Office)

PO Box 226, BOMADERRY NSW 2541

Addresses (State Chapters)

Australian Capital Territory Chapter, PO Box 466, CANBERRA ACT 2601
Queensland Chapter, GPO Box 2070, BRISBANE QLD 4001
New South Wales Chapter, PO Box 223, BOMADERRY NSW 2541
Northern Territory Chapter, PO Box 40528, CASUARINA NT 0810

South Australian Chapter, C/- CEASA, PO Box 111, GOODWOOD SA 5037

Tasmanian Chapter, PO Box 308, MOONAH TAS 7009 Victorian Chapter, PO Box 11, CLIFTON HILL VIC 3068 Western Australia Chapter, PO Box 1715, WANGARA WA 6065

New Zealand Special Education Association Incorporated

Interim Executive

JUDY NICHOLAS (Auckland) President
MARGARET ZUBCIC (Auckland) Vice-President
ANDREA BOYD (Auckland) Vice-President
JUDY DOHERTY (Auckland) Secretary
CHARLES NICHOLLS (Auckland) Treasurer

Council

FRANK FILLARY (Hawkes Bay)
MARTIN VAN DER KLEY (Canterbury)
PETER IVERSEN (Auckland)

Address

102 Hillside Road, Glenfield, Auckland 10, NZ