The Permanent Committee of The Oliver Wendell Holmes Devise

announces the appointment of **Dr. Maeva Marcus**

as General Editor of The Oliver Wendell Holmes Devise History of the Supreme Court of the United States

and the appointment of **Dr. Stanley N. Katz** as General Editor Emeritus The American Society for Legal History is a nonprofit membership organization dedicated to fostering scholarship, teaching, and study concerning the law and institutions of all legal systems, both Anglo-American and international. Founded in 1956, the Society sponsors Law and History Review and Studies in Legal History, a series of book-length monographs available to ASLH members at substantial discounts. In addition, the Society holds an annual meeting to promote scholarship and interaction among scholars, practitioners, and students interested in legal history, and maintains a website (http://www.aslh.net) reporting developments in the field. For further information concerning the Society, please write: Sally Hadden, Department of History, Western Michigan University, 4301 Friedmann Hall, Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5334, USA.

To become a member of the Society or to renew your membership please complete, print out, and mail the following form to: Cambridge University Press, Attention: Customer Services, One Liberty Plaza, Floor 20, New York, NY 10006, USA; or print it out and fax it to: 845-353-4141.

Membership Application

Please check appropriate membership below: Regular Member, with an annual income

	below \$50,000	\$	66.00		Student Member	\$ 25.00	
	\$50,000 - \$75,000	\$	77.00		Emeritus	\$ 100.00	
	\$75,000 - \$100,000	\$	88.00		Life Member	\$ 2,000.00	
	\$100,000 - \$125,000	\$	99.00		Sponsor	\$ 250.00	
	\$125,000 - \$150,000	\$	110.00		Institution	\$ 175.00	
	\$150,000 and above	\$	200.00				

(The Society no longer accepts institutional memberships, but checking this line will make your institution a subscriber to *Law and History Review*.)

Membership fees must be paid in U.S. dollars by check drawn on a U.S. bank or by MasterCard, Visa, or American Express charge. Questions? Call Cambridge University Press at 1-800-872-7423.

Total Amt: \$	Visa/MC/Amex:		
Name on card:	Exp. l	Date:	
Signature:			
Name:			
Institution:			
Address:			
City:	State:		Zip:
Country (if not the US):			
Phone (Home):			
Fax:	E-mail:		

Rebecca J. Scott University of Michigan President

Officers, 2016

Sarah Barringer Gordon University of Pennsylvania President-Elect

Craig Evan Klafter American University of Myanmar Treasurer Sally Hadden Western Michigan University Secretary

Board of Directors

Jeremy Kessler (graduate student representative), Yale University

Alison LaCroix University of Chicago

Sophia Lee University of Pennsylvania

Michael Lobban London School of Economics

Sara MacDougall John Jay College of Criminal Justice and the CUNY Graduate Center

Publications Committee

Sarah Barringer Gordon University of Pennsylvania

Thomas A. Green University of Michigan

Martha S. Jones University of Michigan

Craig Joyce University of Houston

Craig Evan Klafter American University of Myanmar

Ajay Mehrotra American Bar Foundation

Patricia H. Minter Western Kentucky University

Pollv Price Emory University

Gautham Rao American University

Karl Shoemaker University of Wisconsin

Michael Lobban London School of Economics, University of London

> Jim Phillips University of Toronto

Rebecca Rix Princeton University

Charles L. Zelden Nova Southeastern University

Honorary Fellows of the American Society for Legal History

Morris S. Arnold J.H. Baker John M. Beattie Mary Frances Berry Raoul C. Van Caenegem Ennio Cortese Charles Donahue Lawrence M. Friedman Philip Girard Paolo Grossi Hendrik Hartog Douglas Hay

R. H. Helmholz António Manuel Hespanha Morton J. Horwitz Harold M. Hyman Laura Kalman Stanley N. Katz Linda K. Kerber Bruce Kercher Diane Kirkby Peter Landau Anne Lefebvre-Teillard Hector L. MacQueen





Press

John McLaren S. F. C. Milsom Kjell Modéer William E. Nelson John T. Noonan, Jr. John Phillip Reid Susan Reynolds Harry N. Scheiber Reva Siegel Peter G. Stein Michael Stolleis W. A. J. Watson



Susanna Blumenthal University of Minnesota

Jane Dailev University of Chicago

Cornelia Dayton University of Connecticut

Malick W. Ghachem Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Philip Girard York University

Michael Grossberg (Immediate Past President) Indiana University

Laura Edwards, Chair Duke University Simon Baatz John Jay College of Criminal Justice Holly Brewer University of Maryland Li Chen University of Toronto

Elizabeth Dale University of Florida Marie-Amelie George Yale University

Cambridge Journals Online For further information about this journal please go to the journal web site at: journals.cambridge.org/lhr https://doi.org/10.1017/S0738248016000298 Published online by Cambridge University