# From the Editor

# Volunteers



The Microscopy & Microanalysis meeting is the largest annual microscopy conference and exhibition in the world. Yet the Microscopy Society of America and the Microanalysis Society organize the event largely through volunteers. To produce an interesting program each year involves the work of dozens of volunteer pre-meeting congress organizers, workshop instructors, and symposium chairs, some of whom may have proposed topics a year or more in advance of the meeting. These individuals seek speakers, review submitted papers, and organize platform presentations and poster sessions into interesting events. The Symposium Chairs comprise the Program Committee, led by the Program Chair and various Co-Chairs from societies joining in the meeting. To keep balance among the topics presented, the scientific discipline of the Program Chair alternates each year between life sciences and physical sciences. All program planning activities, including production of the *Proceedings* and the scheduling of sessions, are accomplished primarily by our volunteers. While procedures and best practices have been developed over 75 years of organizing annual technical conferences, it is still a remarkable volunteer effort. By way of full disclosure, some people have been contributing to this enterprise annually for over 20 years.

Publications are another area where volunteers play a significant role. In addition to the M&M meeting *Proceedings* (this year will be the 51st edition), the peer-reviewed journal *Microscopy and Microanalysis* and the technical magazine *Microscopy Today* also operate editorial offices staffed largely with volunteer editors and editorial board members. These publications also benefit from volunteer reviewers representing a wide range of disciplines.

While volunteer efforts in meetings and publications are typically initiated by invitation, there are several other committees where volunteers can (actually) volunteer. For MSA, volunteers give their time to the Education Committee, Student Council, International Committee, Membership Committee, Standards Committee, Focused Interest Groups, the Technologists' Forum, and others. It should also be noted that all Council members for both MSA and MAS are long-time society volunteers who have contributed many hours to several of the activities listed above and to the current governance of the Societies.

To get involved with MSA, contact the Committee Chair of your choice at www. microscopy.org by clicking on "Committees" under "About." For MAS, committee chairs can be found at www.microbeamanalysis.org. Click on "Committee chairs" under "Leadership." We sincerely hope you will be our next society volunteer.

Charles Lyman Editor-in-Chief

Publication Objective: to provide information of interest to microscopists.

*Microscopy Today* is a controlled-circulation trade magazine owned by the Microscopy Society of America that is published six times a year in the odd months. Editorial coverage spans all microscopy techniques including light microscopy, scanning probe microscopy, electron microscopy, ion-beam techniques, and the wide range of microanalytical methods. Readers and authors come from both the life sciences and the physical sciences. The typical length of an article is about 2,000 words plus figures and tables; feature articles are longer. Interested authors should consult "Instructions for Contributors" on the *Microscopy Today* website: www.microscopy-today.com.

### ISSN 1551-9295

#### Disclaimer

The Microscopy Society of America and the editors cannot be held responsible for opinions, errors, or for any consequences arising from the use of information contained in *Microscopy Today*. The appearance of advertising in *Microscopy Today* does not constitute an endorsement or approval by the Microscopy Society of America of any claims or information found in the advertisements. By submitting a manuscript to *Microscopy Today*, the author warrants that the article is original or that the author has written permission to use copyrighted material published elsewhere. While the contents of this magazine are believed to be accurate at press time, neither the Microscopy Society of America, the editors, nor the authors can accept legal responsibility for errors or omissions.

© Copyright 2018 by the Microscopy Society of America. All rights reserved.



## **Editorial Staff**

Charles E. Lyman, Editor-in-Chief charles.lyman@lehigh.edu (610) 758-4249

Gennifer Levey, Production Manager glevey@meridianartpro.com (212) 780-0315

Ron Anderson, Executive Editor randerson 20@tampabay.rr.com

Phil Oshel, Technical Editor oshellpe@cmich.edu

Robert Price, Associate Editor bob.price@uscmed.sc.edu

Stephen Carmichael, Columnist carmichael.stephen@mayo.edu

Eric Clark, Pioneers Editor eclark@magnet.fsu.edu

Richard Edelmann, Education Editor edelmare@miamioh.edu

**Deb Kelly,** *Microscopy 101 Editor* debkelly@vt.edu

Thomas E. Phillips, Consulting Editor phillipst@missouri.edu

Paul Webster, Calendar Editor p.webster@oak-crest.org John Shields, Humor Editor

jpshield@uga.edu **Nikolaus Cordes,** *Digital Content Editor* ncordes@lanl.gov

Thomas Kelly, Chief Awards Judge Thomas.kelly@ametek.com

## **Advertising Sales**

M.J. Mrvica Associates, Inc. 2 West Taunton Avenue, Berlin, NJ 08009 mjmrvica@mrvica.com (856) 768-9360

Kelly Miller, Account Manager kmiller@mrvica.com

### Magazine website:

http://www.microscopy-today.com Free subscriptions are available

#### **Publisher**

Cambridge University Press One Liberty Plaza, 20th Floor New York, New York 10006 (212) 337-5000

Circulation: 18,000

## **Editorial Board**

Nasim Alem, Penn State University Arlan Benscoter, Lehigh University John Bozzola, Southern Illinois University Peter Crozier, Arizona State University Vinayak Dravid, Northwestern University David Grubb, Cornell University Bryan Huey, University of Connecticut Heather Lowers, U.S. Geological Survey John Mackenzie, North Carolina State Univ. Paul Maddox, U. of North Carolina-Chapel Hill Ania Majewska, U. Rochester Med School Joseph Michael, Sandia National Labs Caroline Miller, Indiana University Brian M. Patterson, Los Alamos National Lab John Reffner, John Jay College, SUNY Ian Robertson, University of Wisconsin Phillip Russell, Appalachian State University Glenn Shipley, Citizen Microscopist Robert Simmons, Georgia State University Bradley Thiel, SUNY Polytechnic Institute Simon Watkins, University of Pittsburgh Cynthia Zeissler, Nat. Inst. of Stds. and Tech. (NIST)