Special Announcements

Special Announcements

Austrian Ministry for Science and Research Scholarships

The Austrian Ministry for Science and Research will again grant a limited number of scholarships for the academic year 1980-1981 to U. S. graduate students now working on doctoral dissertations or other research projects in the field of Austrian history. The grants include free tuition and insurance and provide a maintenance allowance for one person of nine monthly installments of 5,500 Austrian schillings and a travel allowance of 2,000 Austrian schillings. These grants may not be used to supplement a stipend received from another scholarship or fellowship. Holders of these scholarships are expected to be in residence at an Austrian university and should have a good command of the German language. Candidates must be between twenty and thirty-five years old.

Candidates applying for these scholarships should send three copies of their résumé (written in German) as well as three copies of their graduate and undergraduate transcripts and of a statement explaining their research project (a two or three page outline in English will be satisfactory) to Klemens von Klemperer, Department of History, Smith College, Northampton, Massachusetts 01060. They should also ask at least two professors familiar with their work to send brief letters of recommendation to the same address. The deadline for the applications and letters of recommendation is November 15, 1979.

American Committee to promote Studies of the History of the Habsburg Monarchy

At the annual business meeting of the Conference Group for Central European History at San Francisco, California, on December 29, 1978, William J. McGrath, of the University of Rochester, was elected to succeed Gunther E. Rothenberg, of Purdue University, as a member of the American Committee to promote Studies of the History of the Habsburg Monarchy. At the same meeting Klemens von Klemperer, of Smith College, was chosen to replace Rothenberg as executive-secretary of the Committee. The Committee is now composed of the following members: Dimitrije Djordjevic, of the University of California at Santa Barbara; Klemens von Klemperer, of Smith College (executive-secretary); William J. McGrath, of the University of Rochester; Stanley Z. Pech, of the University of British

Columbia; Carl E. Schorske, of Princeton University; Peter F. Sugar, of the University of Washington; and R. John Rath, of Rice University (ex officio member).

American Association for the Study of Hungarian History

At the ninth annual business meeting of the American Association for the Study of Hungarian History at San Francisco, California, on December 28, 1978, Thomas Sakmyster, of the University of Cincinnati, became chairman of the Association. Istvan Deak, of Columbia University, was elected vice-chairman.

At the business meeting in Philadelphia in December, 1980, the Association will award a prize for the best article published in the field of Hungarian history during the years 1978-1980 by a Canadian or United States scholar. Only junior (untenured) historians are eligible. The prize committee is composed of Istvan Deak, of Columbia University (chairman); Nandor Dreisziger, of the Royal Military College of Canada; and Charles Schlacks, Jr., of Arizona State University. Three copies of the articles submitted for consideration for the prize should be sent to Prof. Istvan Deak, Institute on East Central Europe, Columbia University, New York, New York 10027, before November 15, 1980.

Arthur Schnitzler Research Association

The forthcoming special issue of *Modern Austrian Literature* (Vol. XIII, No. 3-4 [December, 1979]) will be devoted to a collection of essays concerning representative Austrian women writers from the eighteenth century to the present. The specific authors included are Caroline Pichler, Marie von Ebner-Eschenbach, Emil Marriot, Mela Hartwig, Imma Bodmershof, Erika Mitterer, Rose Ausländer, Hilde Spiel, Christine Lavant, Jeannie Ebner, Doris Mühringer, Marlen Haushofer, Ilse Aichinger, Friederike Mayröcker, Ingeborg Bachmann, and Mimi Grossberg.

The aim of the issue is to call attention to the prominent and important position of women writers on the Austrian literary scene through a number of scholarly articles devoted to literary criticism and discussions of the place of each of these writers in history. No attempt has been made to impose a preconceived topic or plan on the individual contributions, and the authors have all picked their own particular subject and approach. In this sense the issue is completely eclectic. Yet, on the basis of the cross section of writers represented

the issue will provide a helpful overview of the themes, concerns, and techniques of individual women writers as well as of their personal difficulties in asserting themselves as authors in a male-dominated society. Anyone interested in Austrian literature and in the topic of women writers will find the issue worthwhile.

Conference Group for Central European History

At the annual business meeting of the Conference Group for Central European History at San Francisco, California, on December 29, 1978, Fritz Stern, of Columbia University, was made chairman. Charles Jelavich, of Indiana University, was elected vice-chairman and James Sheehan, of Northwestern University, secretary-treasurer. Stanley Z. Pech, of the University of British Columbia, was selected to fill the vacant position on the executive committee.

The Conference Group's biennial prize for the best article published in 1977-1978 on any aspect of Central European history by a United States or Canadian scholar was awarded to Konrad H. Jarausch, of the University of Missouri, for his article on "Liberal Education as Illiberal Socialization: The Case of Students in Imperial Germany," which was published in *The Journal of Modern History*, Vol. L, No. 4 (December, 1978), pp. 609-630.

Austrian History Yearbook

Since the editorial offices of the Yearbook will be transferred to the University of Minnesota at Minneapolis in June, 1980, this will be the last issue published under the auspices of Rice University. Vol. XV-XVI (1979-1980) and all subsequent volumes will be published by the University of Minnesota. All manuscripts, books for review, bibliographical information, and correspondence concerning subscriptions should still be sent to the editor at Rice University, Houston, Texas 77001 only until May 31, 1980. After June 1, 1980, all correspondence concerning the Yearbook except for orders for Vols. I-XIV should be sent to the Center for Austrian Studies, 715 Social Sciences, 267 19th Avenue South, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55455. Orders for all volumes published under the auspices of Rice University should be sent to Gifts and Exchanges, Fondren Library, Rice University, Houston, Texas 77001. The issues that will be published by the University of Minnesota will automatically be sent to all persons and institutions with standing orders as soon as each volume is published.