being reviewed, analyze conceptual frameworks employed by scholars working in the area . . . and treat the cumulation of knowledge in the field," Finifter said in a memorandum to section chairs.

The intellectual goals of the papers are to "provide an overview of recent developments and future directions in the field being reviewed," she noted. The focus is to be on trends rather than "strings of citations."

Book of Abstracts

Another innovation in the Annual Meeting will be the publication of a book of abstracts of papers presented at the meeting which will "serve as a permanent record of the meeting," Finifter reported. While the program and the book of abstracts will be distributed as part of the registration package, abstracts will also be sold separately after the meeting.

"All paper-presenters will be asked to send in camera-ready copy of their abstracts," Finifter said. A deadline will be set (probably June 1) by which time abstracts must be submitted in order to be included in the book of abstracts.

Preregistration

Once again this year the Council rule requiring preregistration by all program participants by June 1 will be enforced. The names of over 200 participants were eliminated from the final copy of last year's program because of failure to preregister. Finifter said that every effort is being made to apprise program participants of the requirement to preregister and to prevent misunderstandings this year.

The panels will be 15 minutes longer this year to permit ample time for audience participation. With last year's 1½-hour format there was "frequently little or no time for discussion" after the participants had completed their presentations.

Teaching

Also, Finifter has urged section chairs to include topics on teaching and incorporate them within the substantive sections.



Harold Gosnell, winner of the Charles E. Merriam Award, pictured here, was incorrectly identified as sitting with Peter Katzenstein in the last issue of *PS*. It was Taylor Cole who was seated next to Katzenstein, not Harold Gosnell.

In addition to the panels, three plenary sessions are being planned. First, there will be an evening program which will include the presentation of awards and the Presidential Address by Seymour Martin Lipset. The second plenary session will be the Lasswell Symposium. Charles O. Jones of the University of Virginia will organize and chair the third plenary session on the Reagan presidency and its effects on American public policy and political institutions.

APSA Announces Lasswell Symposium

The American Political Science Association has announced the establishment of the H. D. Lasswell Symposium. This symposium was established to honor the late Harold Lasswell, a former president of the Association and eminent social scientist, and to establish a structure whereby each year three outstanding political scientists are selected to present papers addressed to a common theme at an Annual Meeting plenary session. The theme need not be limited to Lasswell's work; the award is designed as a memorial to him, but not necessarily a continuing dialogue on his work.

Association News

Administration. The first Lasswell Symposium will be held at the 1982 APSA Annual Meeting in Denver. The participants, selected by the Program Committee, will each receive an honorarium for preparing and presenting a paper. Every effort will be made to publish the three papers each year.

Financing. The Association has established an interest-earning fund to receive contributions. Friends of Harold Lasswell have made a contribution to give the fund a start. Other friends of Lasswell and beneficiaries of his ideas and work are urged to contribute. Tax-exempt contributions should be made payable to: APSA H. D. Lasswell Symposium, American Political Science Association, 1527 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036. ■

Evron M. Kirkpatrick Fund Established to Honor Former Executive Director

The Evron M. Kirkpatrick Fund has been established by the Council of the Ameri-

can Political Science Association to aid in the study of political science as a discipline and profession. The Fund is designed to pay tribute to Dr. Kirkpatrick's distinguished service of 27 years as executive director of the Association. During that time he played an important role in fostering the growth and development of political science as a discipline and profession.

The Fund is also intended to recognize his lively interest and accomplishments as a teacher and scholar in the philosophy and intellectual history of political science.

The Fund's program will include the Pi Sigma Alpha Oral History Project, the APSA archives at Georgetown University, a monograph series, and a small grants program. A Board of Trustees has been appointed by the Council to raise an endowment for the Fund and set policy guidelines for the administration of the Fund's programs.

The Board is composed of Walter E. Beach, Brookings Institution, Chairperson; Mae Brodbeck, University of Iowa; John Davis, City University of New York; Max M. Kampelman, Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver and Kampelman; Clement E. Vose, Wesleyan University; and Robert E. Ward, Stanford University.



Evron Kirkpatrick with close friend Hubert H. Humphrey at the 1969 Annual Meeting in New York.