

# THE AERONAUTICAL JOURNAL

Covering all aspects of aerospace

Volume 122 Number 1247

January 2018





## THE **AERONAUTICAL** JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief: Professor Peter Bearman

**Editorial Board** Chairman: Professor Mike Graham Deputy Chairman: Professor Chris Atkin

### **Associate Editors**

**Professor Victor Giurgiutiu** University of South Carolina

> **Dr Guy Gratton** Brunel University

**Dr John Green** Consultant Chief Scientist ARA

Professor Ismet Gursul University of Bath

> Professor Li He University of Oxford

**Professor Michael Henshaw** Loughborough University

**Professor Konstantinos Kontis** University of Glasgow

> **Professor Jim McGuirk** Loughborough University

**Professor Jack McNamara** Ohio State University

**Dr Richard Markiewicz** DSTL

Professor Pierangelo Masarati University of Milan

**Professor Mark Price** Queen's University, Belfast

**Professor Ning Qin** University of Sheffield **Professor Srinivasan Raghunathan** Queen's University, Belfast

> Dr G Satheesh Reddy MoD. India

**Dr Arthur Richards** University of Bristol

**Professor Kenichi Rinoie** University of Tokyo

**Professor Ulrich Rist** University of Stuttgart, Germany

> Carl Russell NASA Ames, USA

**Dr Matthew Santer** Imperial College, London

Professor Ömer Savaş University of California, Berkeley

**Professor Shahrokh Shahpar** Rolls-Royce, Derby

Professor Howard Smith Cranfield University

**Professor Marilyn Smith** Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

**Professor Constantinos Soutis** University of Manchester

**Professor Anthony Waas** University of Washington, USA

#### Aims and Scope

The aims and scope of The Aeronautical Journal are intended to reflect the objectives of the Royal Aeronautical Society as expressed in its Charter of Incorporation. Briefly, these are to encourage and foster the advancement of all aspects of aeronautical and space science. Thus the topics of The Aeronautical Journal include most of those covered by the various Specialist Groups of the Society. Topics covered in The Aeronautical Journal include:

Aircraft design, aerodynamics, air law, air power, air transport, air navigation, airworthiness and maintenance, aviation medicine, avionics and systems, composites, environmental issues, flight operations, flight simulation, fluid dynamics, fluid mechanics, general aviation, guided flight, human factors, human powered flight, light aviation, management studies, propulsion, rotorcraft, safety, space, structures and materials, structural mechanics, systems and test procedures and UAVs.

Papers are solicited on all aspects of research, design and development, construction and operation of aircraft and space vehicles. Papers are also welcomed which review, comprehensively, the results of recent research developments in any of the above topics.

We recognise the inhibiting pressures of time and confidentiality, and acknowledge that many of the design testing, manufacturing and operational problems that industry has to solve contain important information for the whole aerospace community. Be assured that The Aeronautical Journal provides a renowned platform for refereeing and presenting your work to the broadest international audience. Papers will be considered for publication in The Aeronautical Journal if they meet the terms and conditions listed in our instructions for authors available at: http://journals.cambridge.org/AER. If these are not met, the Editor reserves the right to withdraw the paper without redress, which may be at any time up to publication.

Enquiries should be sent to: Wayne J Davis, RAeS Production Editor: aerojournal@aerosociety.com

Subscription enquiries should be sent to: journals@cambridge.org Papers should be submitted at: www.edmgr.com/aeroj https://doi.org/10.1017/aer.2017.133 Published online by Cambridge University Press

Professor Christian Allen University of Bristol

Professor Holger Babinsky University of Cambridge

**Professor George Barakos** University of Glasgow

**Professor Cees Bil RMIT University**. Australia

Professor Rene de Borst University of Sheffield

**Professor Jonathan Cooper** University of Bristol

Peter Curtis Aircraft Research Association

**Professor Laurent Dala** University of Northumbria

Professor Dimitris Drikakis University of Strathclyde

Professor Brian Falzon Queen's University, Belfast

**Professor Antonio Filippone** University of Manchester

**Professor Song Fu** Tsinghua University, China

> **Professor Ed Galea** Greenwich University

### The RAeS 2016 Written Paper Prizes

The Royal Aeronautical Society has been honouring outstanding achievers in the global aerospace industry since 1909 when Wilbur and Orville Wright came to London to receive the Society's first Gold Medal. In the years that have followed, honouring world aerospace achievers has become a permanent tradition of the Society. Included among these awards are the written paper prizes.

The Royal Aeronautical Society Written Paper Prizes are awarded annually for the best papers published in *The Aeronautical Journal* by the Society during the previous calendar year. Awards can be conferred at Gold, Silver or Bronze level. The Written Paper Prizes are presented following the approval of the Council of the Royal Aeronautical Society on the basis of recommendations from the RAeS Medals & Awards Committee, supported by the Editor-in-Chief of *The Aeronautical Journal*. The Society recognises the achievements, innovation and excellence of both individual and multiple authors.

The nominations received for the 2016 Awards were highly competitive and on behalf of the RAeS Council, the Medals and Awards Committee are very pleased to announce the winners as:

### The 2016 Gold Written Paper Prize

Awarded to **Dr P R Spalart** and **Dr V Ventatakrishnan** for, 'On the role and challenges of CFD in the aerospace industry', The Aeronautical Journal, January 2016, Vol 120, No 1223, p 209.

### The 2016 Silver Written Paper Prize

Awarded to **Professor J A Jupp FREng FRAeS** for, '*The design of future passenger aircraft* – *the environmental and fuel price challenges*', *The Aeronautical Journal*, January 2016 Vol 120, No 1223, p 37.

Awarded to **Professor L M B C Campos FRAeS** and **Professor J M G Marques** for, 'On an analytical model of wake vortex separation of aircraft', The Aeronautical Journal, October 2016, Vol 120, No 1216, pp 781-790.

### The 2016 Bronze Written Paper Prize

Awarded to **Dr D J Moreau** and **Dr C J Doolan** for, 'The generation of tonal noise from sawtooth trailing-edge serrations at low Reynolds numbers', *The Aeronautical Journal*, June 2016, Vol 120, No 1226, p 971.

Awarded to **Professor Y Cao, Dr J Huang, Mr Z Xu and Mr J Yin** for, 'Insight into rime ice accretion on an aircraft wing and corresponding effects on aerodynamic performance', The Aeronautical Journal, July 2016, Vol 120, No 1229, pp 1101.

Awarded to **Dr V A Pastrikakis, Dr R Steijl** and **Professor G N Barakos** for their paper titled 'Effect of active Gurney flaps on overall helicopter flight envelope'. *The Aeronautical Journal*, August 2016, Vol 120, No 1218, p 1230.

### Young Persons' Written Paper Prize

Awarded to **Mr G J Durango, Dr C P Lawson and Dr A Shahneh** for, 'Formation flight investigation for highly efficient future civil transport aircraft', *The Aeronautical Journal*, July 2016, Vol 120, No 1229, p 1081.