NOTES AND NEWS

DISTINGUISHED MEMBER AWARD

In 1968 The Clay Minerals Society recommended amendment of Section 4, Article III of its By-Laws to change the designation *Correspondent* to *Distinguished Member*. *Distinguished Members* shall be persons recognized for distinguished attainment in the field of clay mineral science. The first award in this category was made to Dr. Ralph E. Grim at the Annual Clay Minerals Conference at The University of Indiana, October 1968. The following citation was read by Past-President Haydn H. Murray.

"It is a particular pleasure, personally and scientifically, to be asked to make this presentation on behalf of The Clay Minerals Society to Dr. Ralph E. Grim. The fact that The Clay Minerals Society is a strong functional organization is largely because of the organizing efforts of Dr. Grim as the first Chairman of The Clay Minerals Committee of the National Research Council. Our society is an outgrowth of this committee and its annual clay conferences. As all of you know so well, the name Dr. Ralph E. Grim and Clay Minerals are almost synonomous. Dr. Grim's contributions to the subject of clay mineralogy and their applications are known internationally and he has received numerous honors and awards, which I will not detail at this time. We all know and recognize his outstanding scientific contributions to the field of clay mineralogy but those of us who were his students and associates were fortunate to see another side of Dr. Grim. In addition to guiding us scientifically and personally while we were students or associates, he has continued to guide and counsel his former students, associates, and friends whenever needed and he has followed their scientific careers with intense personal interest and loyalty. He is always willing to listen and help if he can. Dr. Grim is one of the biggest men I have known. By this I mean, he is completely unselfish, has the highest personal integrity, is extremely humble, and is never too busy to help others. It gives me great pleasure to present this scroll to Dr. Ralph E. Grim on behalf of The Clay Minerals Society."

MARBUT MEMORIAL SLIDES

The Soil Science Society of America announces the availability of additional sets of Marbut Memorial Slides on soil classification. Each set consists of 85 transparency slides. Photographs of soil profiles and landscapes illustrate soil classification according to both the 1938 and the seventh approximation systems. There are slides representing all of the ten orders of the latter system. An introductory slide for each order indicates where the slides in that order fit into the seventh approximation scheme, making this set very useful in teaching the new classification system. Included with each slide set is a printed descriptive narration covering all of the slides. The slide sets may be ordered, at \$28 postpaid, from the Soil Science Society of America, 677 South Segoe Road, Madison, Wisconsin, 53711.

111

NOTES AND NEWS

COMMITTEES OF THE CLAY MINERALS SOCIETY, 1968-69

Finance and Budget*

J. F. Burst (Treasurer), Chm. (*Ex Officio*) 69 M. L. Jackson, 70 J. W. Jordan, 69 P. F. Kerr, 69 Katharine Mather, 69 S. B. McCaleb, 71 M. G. Reed, 69 Finis Turner, 70 J. L. White (1969 ballot nominee, Treas.) 69

Publications*

W. F. Bradley, Chm. 69
S. W. Bailey (*Ex Officio*) 69
R. E. Gray, 69
A. A. Levinson, 70
P. F. Low, 69
R. S. Malcolm, 69
M. Mortland, 71
T. D. Oulton (*Ex Officio*)
R. A. Rowland, 69
L. D. Whittig, 69

Policy and Administration*

C. I. Rich, Chm. 71 T. F. Bates, 70 J. F. Burst (*Ex Officio*) 69 H. Heystek, 72 E. C. Jonas, 69

Nominations*

R. T. Tettenhorst (Council), Chm. 69 B. W. Nelson (Council) 70 J. B. Droste (Academic) 70 H. H. Murray (Industry) 72 E. W. Tooker (Government) 71

Meeting Places

W. E. Moody, Chm. W. F. Bradley John Hower Padraic Partridge C. E. Weaver

Membership

G. W. Brindley, Chm. 69 W. F. Hower, 69 E. Penner, 69 (Canada) L. D. Whittig, 69 R. W. Doehler, 70 B. L. Helton, 70 G. H. Brandt, 71 M. Cruz (Belgium), 71 C. L. Garey, 71 G. A. Mickelson, 71 G. P. Salas (Mexico), 71 J. F. Burst (Vice Chm.) 69 T. D. Oulton (*Ex Officio*)

*Standing Committee, designated in CMS By-Laws.

Publicity and Public Relations

Katharine Mather, Chm. J. E. Brydon (Canada) J. Iannicelli G. W. Kunze H. W. Pickett C. B. Roth J. Washburn G. W. Brindley (*Ex Officio*) T. D. Oulton (*Ex Officio*)

Program Quality Control

L. G. Schultz, Chm. W. M. Bundy J. B. Droste J. B. Hayes E. C. Jonas F. H. Manley R. A. Rowland S. W. Bailey (*Ex Officio*) T. D. Oulton (*Ex Officio*)

Standards

R. W. Rex, Chm. G. W. Brindley W. T. Granquist E. A. Jenne S. H. Patterson

Representative to NSFNRC

J. W. Earley, 69

Nomenclature

G. W. Brindley, Chm. S. W. Bailey R. T. Martin J. K. Mitchell Malcolm Ross

AIPEA Liaison

T. F. Bates, Chm. G. W. Brindley H. Ikawa R. W. Rex J. L. White

SSSA Liaison C. I. Rich

Executive Committee

S. W. Bailey G. W. Brindley J. F. Burst P. G. Nahin T. D. Oulton



Past-President Haydn H. Murray (left) presents scroll to Dr. Ralph E. Grim (right).

[Facing page 112]

Council

Executive Committee Chairmen of Standing Committees T. F. Bates, 69 C. I. Rich, 69 R. T. Tettenhorst, 69 E. W. Tooker, 69 C. E. Weaver, 69 E. C. Jonas, 70 B. W. Nelson, 70 L. G. Schultz, 70 R. W. Rex, 70 John Hower, 71 Katharine Mather, 71 H. W. van Olphen, 71 J. L. White, 71