ECCLESIASTICAL LAW JOURNAL

January 2001

Richard Hooker and the European Ius Commune Professor Richard Helmholz

Patronage (Benefices) Measure 1986
The Revd David Parrott

Re-ordering Historic Churches Chancellor Sheila Cameron QC

Goring revisited: George Bell, the Artist Hans Feibusch, and Art in Church

Professor Paul Foster

How we got to where we are: the Development of the Clergyman's Role

Bishop Anthony Russell

Dignity at Work
The Revd Stephen Trot

(For full list of contents, see back cover)

The Journal of the Ecclesiastical Law Society

ECCLESIASTICAL LAW JOURNAL

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

Michael Goodman (Chairman)
James Behrens
Timothy Briden
Rupert Bursell
Norman Doe
David Harte

Mark Hill Hughie Jones Lynne Leeder Peter Moore Stephen Pix Thomas Watkin

EDITORIAL ADVSISORY BOARD

Professor John Baker Bishop Eric Kemp Professor Richard Helmholz Professor Francis I vall Chancellor David McClean Revd Dr Robert Ombres OP Professor Dr Gerhard Robbers

The Ecclesiastical Law Journal is published by the Ecclesiastical Law Society. Decisions on the publication of individual articles are at the discretion of the Editor but are normally made on the advice of referees, chosen by the Editor as expert in the relevant area. General policies of the Journal are developed in consultation with the Editorial Committee and the Editorial Advisory Board.

The views expressed in any article, review or other publication in this Journal do not necessarily accord with those of the Editorial Committee or the Society as a whole. Editor

ISSN 0956-618X

Items in this issue should be cited 6 Ecc LJ

Typeset in Times Roman on Apple Macintosh and printed by Oxuniprint, Oxford University Press, Great Clarendon Street, Oxford OX2 6DP.

All rights in this publication are reserved. It may not be reproduced or transmitted in whole or in part, for sale or otherwise, in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording or storage in any retrieval system, without written permission from the Ecclesiastical Law Society.

© The Ecclesiastical Law Society 2001

ECCLESIASTICAL LAW SOCIETY

Patrons

The Most Revd and Rt Hon the Lord Archbishop of Canterbury
The Most Revd and Rt Hon the Lord Archbishop of York

Vice-Patrons

The Most Revd the Lord Archbishop of Wales
The Most Revd the Lord Archbishop of Armagh
The Most Revd the Primus of Scotland

President

The Rt Revd the Lord Bishop of Chichester

Elective Officers (to 2001)

CHAIRMAN: Dr Frank Robson OBE†
VICE-CHAIRMAN: The Rt Revd the Lord Bishop of Stafford†
SECRETARY: Peter Beesley†
DEPUTY SECRETARY: Nicholas J. Richens†
TREASURER: The Revd John Rees†

Executive Officer

The Revd Dr Stephen Pix†

General Committee 2000–2001

The Officers together with:

ELECTED: The Revd and Worshipful Chancellor Rupert Bursell QC† (to 2001)

The Very Revd the Dean of Carlisle (to 2001)

The Worshipful Chancellor Michael Goodman†* (to 2001)

The Worshipful Chancellor Mark Hill (to 2001)

James Behrens Esq (to 2002)

The Worshipful Chancellor John Holden (to 2002)

The Worshipful Chancellor Charles Mynors (to 2002)

The Revd Dr Robert Ombres OP (to 2002)

Brian Hanson Esq CBE (to 2003)

David Harte Esq (to 2003)

The Ven the Archdeacon of Malmesbury (to 2003)

Augur Pearce Esq (to 2003)

CO-OPTED: Jonathan Cryer Esq (to 2001)

Dr Norman Doe (to 2001)

The Worshipful Chancellor Thomas Coningsby QC (to 2002)

His Honour Quentin Edwards QC (to 2002)

† Member of Executive Committee

* Chairman of the Editorial Committee