## The Dutch Branch of the International Law Association 1910-1985

On 28 November 1910, the Dutch Branch of the International Law Association was founded under the name of *Nederlandsche Vereeniging voor Internationaal Recht*. The International Law Association dated back to October 1873, and the Dutch Branch was the very first of the now forty-one Branches in existence. Its first President was Professor D. Josephus Jitta, a distinguished scholar in the Conflict of Laws at Amsterdam Municipal University. Its actual membership of around 375 testifies to the keen interest taken by Dutch lawyers in international law and the conflict of laws.

The Dutch Branch of the I.L.A. organized and hosted the Third Conference (The Hague, 1875), the Thirtieth Conference (The Hague, 1921), the Fortieth Conference (Amsterdam, 1938), and the Fifty-Fourth Conference (The Hague, 1970). Three of its members were elected Presidents of the Association.

Ever since its creation the Branch has published and distributed among members and the general public a considerable number of reports which have underpinned its annual meetings. It earned itself the highest esteem in scholarly circles as well as in those of members of the bar and other legal professions. In 1970, the Branch was awarded the Wateler Peace Prize.

The Board of Editors is pleased to extend its warmest congratulations to the Dutch Branch of the International Law Association on the occasion of its seventy-fifth anniversary and to express its sincerest wishes for its lasting success for many years to come.

The Board of Editors.