APSA Members and Friends Continue to Provide Program Support

Many of the Association's programs and awards would not continue to operate without the generosity of APSA members and friends of political science. APSA is very grateful to those who contribute to awards and other programs. During the past year these individuals have made a significant contribution to the Congressional Fellowship Program and the Trust and Development Fund.

Lupita Aguirre **Edward Artinian** Walter Beach J. Cudd Brown Allan Brown Winber Chai Pamela Conover Eugene Davidson Chris Deering Daniel Estrada Beth Fuchs Henry Galant Robert Gilpin Nancy Green Glen Halva-Neubauer John Harrod Jerzy Hauptman Mark Herbst Paul S. Herrnson John F. Hoadley Samuel Hoff Joyce Kallgren Thomas Kazee Anthony King Paul F. Kromer Dianne Lambert Lawrence LeDuc Thomas R. Lewis Leopoldo Lovelace Ardith Maney Mary Maxwell Susan McAndrew Douglas F. Morgan Ward Morton **Burton Moyer** Yoshio Murakami Frederick Neikirk Robert Neiman Dalmas Nelson William Oakley Kelly Patterson W. Scott Payne Frank Prindle Ronald Reinighaus Craig Rimmerman Fauneil J. Rinn

Francis Rourke

Mark Schneider

Steven Scroggs

Harold Seidman Roberta Sigel Robert Simmons Albert Somit William Spragens Ichiro Sunada Edward Thompson Charles Tidmarch Sue Vandenbosch Shuishi Wada Steve Wasby Patricia Woods

Section News: New Section on Elections and Electoral Behavior

Elections and Electoral Behavior is a new organized section approved by the APSA Council in the spring of 1993. The purpose of this section is to promote interest in teaching and research in the areas of elections, electoral behavior, voting turnout, and political participation, both within the United States and in comparative perspective. It is intended to be a broad-gauged section devoted to the study of elections.

Individuals interested in participating in the section are invited to attend the section organizational meeting at the 1993 American Political Science Association meetings. Please consult the program for time and location.

The organizers of the section are Herb Weisberg at the Ohio State University, Kathleen Knight at the University of Houston, and George Rabinowitz at the University of North Carolina. Contact any of them with questions or suggestions regarding the section.

1993 APSA Research Support Grants Announced

The APSA Research Support Committee recently announced 11 awards totaling \$15,000 under APSA's program to support research by political scientists outside of Ph.D.-granting, research institutions. These awards are supported entirely by Association general revenues—that is, by member dues—as one of the many facets of the Association's

commitment to assuring scholarly opportunities for all. The Committee received 41 proposals.

The awards were approved by the APSA Council at its April 17th meeting. They are merit-based and this year include studies of a comparison across constitutional issues, political recruitment in France, rural political economy, abortion policy, a case study of the Polish parliament, mass opinion on AIDS, structure of candidate trait information, women's PACs, Zambian agricultural policymaking, and women in politics in Ecuador. The Research Support Committee is chaired by John Sprague, Washington University, and includes F. Chris Garcia, University of New Mexico; Kathleen Knight, University of Houston: Stanley Rothman, Smith College; and Karen O'Connor, Emory University.

The grant recipients are Jilda M. Aliotta, University of Hartford, "Assessing Judicial Attributes v. Case Characteristics: A Comparison Across Constitutional Issues"; Andrew Appleton, Canisius College, "Party Organizations and Political Recruitment in France: The French Candidate Survey"; Allison Drew, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, "Rural Political Economy and the Political Culture of Land in South Africa"; Glen A. Halva-Neubauer, Furman University, "Legislative Agenda Setting in the States: The Case of Abortion Policy"; Janine P. Holc, Lovola College, "Institution-Building in Post-Communist Politics: A Case Study of the Polish Parliament"; Nuket Kardam, Pomona College, "Central Asia and Turkey: The Politics of an Emerging Economic Bloc"; Philip H. Pollock, III, University of Central Florida, "Testing a Model of Critical Moments: Magic Johnson and Mass Opinion on AIDS"; David R. Reed, Arkansas State University, "The Media and the Structure of Candidate Trait Contributors"; Susan L. Roberts, Furman University, "Women's PACs: A Study of Organizations and Their Contributors"; Eve N. Sandberg, Oberlin College, "Donor Influence in an African State: The Case of Zambian Agricultural Policy Making"; Richard L. Wilson, Sam Houston State University, "Women in Politics in Ecuador."

596 PS: Political Science & Politics