The mission at Burton Park in West Sussex has been most recently discussed by Fr. Geoffrey Holt in Recusant History 13 (1975). A few amplifications and corrections can, however, be made from sources not known to him.
First, the position within the Elizabethan house of the chapel that served the mission until the early nineteenth century can be identified from a local newspaper report of 1826. Successive manor houses at Burton occupied the same site, pace the speculations reported by Fr. Holt. A curious feature of that site was that at one time it straddled the boundary between Burton and Barlavington parishes (Fig. 1); the medieval house was evidently in the former and expanded eastwards into the latter. The Elizabethan house, which survived until the early nineteenth century, had at least two courtyards, of which the westemmost lay eighty metres south of Burton parish church and had an elaborate frontispiece, known from a drawing by Grimm. The east end of the house was rebuilt in the eighteenth century by the Venetian architect Giacomo Leoni, with a fine classical façade and a notable saloon and drawing room, but in 1826 the building was largely destroyed by fire caused by a servant girl's carelessness. The report of the event in the Brighton Herald states that the chapel was at the west end, which together with the centre of the building was the part that was burnt.