The Jervoises of Herriard, happily for the historian, rarely discarded any of their papers. The result is a vast and fascinating archive, one quarter of a million items, now the property of the present owner of the Herriard estate, John Loveys Jervoise, but deposited at the Hampshire Record Office in Winchester. Of particular interest to the architectural historian is a box of drawings (Box Pl) catalogued here. It contains over one hundred items, most of which relate to the building of Herriard House, near Basingstoke, Hampshire, the outbuildings and offices on the estate, the gardens and the church. The remainder show Jervoise property elsewhere, with a few sheets of miscellaneous drawings. When considered in conjunction with the other documents in the Jervoise collection — correspondence, accounts, bills, memoranda, etc. — these drawings form a very full record of the progress of the project to build the new Herriard House early in the eighteenth century, and of the maintenance of the estate and improvements made to it over a period of more than a century (c. 1690–1825). In the main, they are the work of local builders and craftsmen whose names, when recorded, are not familiar. Two men, however, stand out in connection with work on the early eighteenth-century house and gardens. They are John James and George London, and a clear picture of their involvement emerges.