Skip to main content Accessibility help

Structure and Morphology of μic-SiC:H films Produced by PECVD

  • F. Demiehelis (a1), G. Crovini (a1), C. F. Pirri (a1), E. Tresso (a1), L. Battezzati (a2) and P. Rava (a3)...


Films of μc-Si:H have been deposited in a conventional PECVD system in order to investigate their structural and morphological properties. They consist of a mixed phase of Si crystallites (50–200 Å), surrounded by grain boundaries, and amorphous regions. In this paper we report results obtained by different characterization techniques which have been used to deduce grain size, microcrystallinity fraction and composition of the crystalline, amoiphous and grain boundary. The amorphous matrix can be considered a covalent network where tetrahedrically coordinated carbon atoms, with 1 on 9 bonds terminated by hydrogen, exist. They form a distribution of large aromatic clusters containing a great number of aromatic rings such as to remarkably reduce the number of network terminators (hydrogen atoms).



Hide All
1) Kanicki, J. - “Amorphous and microcrystalline semiconductors devices: optoelectronic devices” (Artech House, Boston 1991)
2) Veprek, S., Heintze, H., Sarott, F.A., Jurcik, M., Willnott, P. - “Amorphous Silicon Technology” editors Madan, A., Thompson, M.J., Taylor, P.C., LeComber, P.G., Hamakawa, Y. - MRS Symp. Proc. vol. 118, p. 3 (1988)
3) Wang, C., Lucovsky, G. and Nemanich, R.J. - J. of Non-Cryst. Solids 137/138, 741 (1991)
4) Demichelis, F., Pini, C.F., Tresso, E. - Phil. Mag. B 66, 135 (1992)
5) Demichelis, F., Pini, C.F., Tresso, E. - Phil. Mag. B 66, (1992, in press)
6) Dolher, G.H., Dandoloff, R. and Bilz, H. - J. of Non-Cryst. Solids 42, 87 (1980)
7) Philips, J.C. and Thorpe, M.F. - olid State Comm. 53, 699 (1985)
8) Wieder, H., Cardona, M. and Guarnieri, C.R. - Phys. Status Solidi (b) 92, 99 (1979)
9) Catherine, Y. and Turban, G. - Thin Solid Films 70, 101 (1980)
10) Dischler, B., Bubenzer, A. and Koidl, P. - Appl. Phys. Lett. 42, 636 (1983)
11) Willeke, G., Martins, R., Viera, M., Fortunato, E., Ferreira, I., Santos, M., Macaneo, A., Carvalho, N. and Guimaraes, L. - Proc. of the 1989 Congress of the International Solar Energy Society - Pergamon Press vol. 1, p. 217 (1990)
12) Tawada, Y., Tsuge, K., Kondo, M., Okamoto, H., Hamakawa, H. - J. Appl. Phys. 53, 5273 (1982)


Full text views

Total number of HTML views: 0
Total number of PDF views: 0 *
Loading metrics...

Abstract views

Total abstract views: 0 *
Loading metrics...

* Views captured on Cambridge Core between <date>. This data will be updated every 24 hours.

Usage data cannot currently be displayed