Skip to main content Accessibility help

Teaching in the Nigerian University System

  • Paul A. Beckett


Fueled by oil money and the powerful belief of its people in the transforming power of education, the Nigerian university system may be expanding proportionately faster than any major system in the world. Consisting of only five universities (Ibadan, Nsukka, Ife, Lagos, and Ahmadu Bello in Zaria) during most of the first decade of independence, the 1970s have seen successive additions until the current projected number of universities is thirteen (spread among the twelve states that existed until 1976). The Nigerian government has indicated that it will try to hold the line at thirteen and not go through another round of new university creation so that each of the present nineteen states would have its own university. But even granting the leaders’ success in this resolve, the present commitments themselves mean that the university system will double in size between 1977 and the first years of the 1980s.


Teaching in the Nigerian University System

  • Paul A. Beckett


Full text views

Total number of HTML views: 0
Total number of PDF views: 0 *
Loading metrics...

Abstract views

Total abstract views: 0 *
Loading metrics...

* Views captured on Cambridge Core between <date>. This data will be updated every 24 hours.

Usage data cannot currently be displayed