Skip to main content Accessibility help


      • Send chapter to Kindle

        To send this chapter to your Kindle, first ensure is added to your Approved Personal Document E-mail List under your Personal Document Settings on the Manage Your Content and Devices page of your Amazon account. Then enter the ‘name’ part of your Kindle email address below. Find out more about sending to your Kindle.

        Note you can select to send to either the or variations. ‘’ emails are free but can only be sent to your device when it is connected to wi-fi. ‘’ emails can be delivered even when you are not connected to wi-fi, but note that service fees apply.

        Find out more about the Kindle Personal Document Service.

        Available formats

        Send chapter to Dropbox

        Available formats

        Send chapter to Google Drive

        Available formats
Export citation

People interviewed

Masood Ahmed Director of the Middle East and Central Asia Department, IMF, formerly Director General for Policy at DFID, Deputy Director of Policy Development and Review, IMF, and Vice President for Poverty Reduction and Economic Management (PREM), World Bank
Mark Allen Former Director of Policy Development and Review Department, IMF
Thomas Bernes IMF Executive Director (Canada, Ireland and the Caribbean), 1996–2001, and Director, IMF Independent Evaluation Office, 2005–9
Gordon Betcherman Lead Economist in the Social Protection Unit, World Bank, 1998–2005
Jack Boorman Former Director of Policy Development and Review, and Special Advisor to the Managing Director, IMF
David Booth Research Fellow, Politics and Governance, Overseas Development Institute
Hugh Bredenkamp Deputy Director, Strategy, Policy and Review Department, IMF
Ariel Buira Former Director of the G-24 Secretariat
Michel Camdessus Former Managing Director (1987–2000), IMF
Rob Chase Lead Social Development Specialist, Social Development Department of the World Bank
Jeff Chelsky Senior Economist, PREM, World Bank, and former staff member in the IMF Independent Evaluation Office
Jean-Jacques Dethier Manager of the Research Services unit in Development Economics, World Bank
Ruth Driscoll Research Officer, Overseas Development Institute and former Special Advisor to Clare Short, UK Secretary of State for International Development
Ariel Fiszbein Chief Economist for the Human Development Network, World Bank
David Goldsbrough Former Deputy Director of the IMF’s Independent Evaluation Office (2001–6)
Eduardo Gonzalez Development Co-operation Directorate, Organisation for Cooperation and Development
Jo Marie Griesgraber Executive Director, New Rules for Global Finance
Kjetil Hansen Development Co-operation Directorate, Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development
Robert Holzmann Former Sector Director, Human Development Network, World Bank.
Emmanuel Jiminez Sector Director, Human Development, East Asia Region, World Bank
Homi Kharas Former Chief Economist, East Asia and Pacific Region, World Bank
Willy Kiekens Former Executive Director (Belgium), IMF
Hetty Kovach Aid Policy Advisor, Oxfam UK
Johannes Linn Former Vice President, Europe and Central Asia, and Vice President, Financial Policy and Resource Mobilization, World Bank
Meg Lundsager Executive Director (United States), IMF
Abbas Mirakhor Executive Director and former Dean of the Executive Board, IMF
Alexandros Mourmouras Chief of the European Division of the IMF Institute and former member of the Policy Development and Review Department, IMF
Tom Neylan Former senior staff member, HM Treasury, United Kingdom
Marjolaine Nicod Development Co-operation Directorate, Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development
Mark Plant Former Deputy Director, African Department, IMF
Jacques Polak Former member of the Netherlands delegation to the Bretton Woods conference and senior IMF staff member and Executive Director, 1947–86
Jeff Powell Former Coordinator, Bretton Woods Project
Bruce Rich Attorney, Environmental Defense
Rick Rowden Senior Policy Analyst, ActionAid International US
Tom Scholar Former Executive Director (United Kingdom), IMF and World Bank.
Sunil Sharma Director, IMF Singapore Regional Training Institute and Former Chief, Asian Division, IMF Institute
Ted Truman Assistant Secretary of the US Treasury for International Affairs, 1998–2001
Lisa Williams Development Co-operation Directorate, Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development
Felix Zimmerman Development Co-operation Directorate, Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development
And thirteen other individuals including senior staff and Executive Directors from the IMF and the World Bank, NGO staff, and US and UK government officials.