Skip to main content Accessibility help
  • Get access
    Check if you have access via personal or institutional login
  • Cited by 1
  • Print publication year: 2008
  • Online publication date: October 2011

CHAPTER 4 - Forest Administration and Management


As a part of reforms in the state administration taken up by Salarjung I, all matters connected with forests were delegated to the newly created Forest Department in 1867. Thus, a foundation was laid down for a ‘systematic’ development of forestry in the Hyderabad State. The Forest Department was under the control of Home Secretariat until 1881, and it was later handed over to the Revenue Department.

Structure of Administration

The Conservator of Forests was the head of the Forest Department. The department was reorganized in 1914–1915 and the post of Conservator of Forests was elevated to the rank of Inspector General of Forests (IGF) with two Conservators under him. Under the IGF, there was a hierarchy of staff consisting of Conservators, Assistant Conservators, Rangers, Deputy Rangers, Foresters, Surveyors and Guards.

The forest areas of the Hyderabad State were divided into circles, divisions, ranges, blocks and beats. In 1899, there were four forest divisions consisting of Warangal, Bidar, Gulbarga and Aurangabad. In 1901 they were increased to six with the creation of Mahabubnagar and Nirmal. In 1914–1915 the divisions were increased to 12 and were grouped into two circles, styled as Eastern and Western circles, each under the charge of a Conservator.

This system continued until 1948. Each division was looked after by a Divisional Forest Officer (DFO) and the work of the DFO was controlled and supervised by the Inspector General of Forests. Each Divisional Forest Officer had a number of graded staff of assistants called Ameens/Darogas (Rangers), Sahradars (Foresters), Dafadars (Assistant Foresters) and Chowkidars (Guards).