Skip to main content Accessibility help
  • Print publication year: 2019
  • Online publication date: December 2019

17 - Personality Assessment Inventory

from Part II - Specific Clinical Assessment Methods


The Personality Assessment Inventory (PAI; Morey, 1991) is a 344-item self-administered questionnaire that assesses a variety of psychopathology and personality domains. The PAI consists of twenty-two non-overlapping scales, including four validity scales, eleven clinical scales, five treatment scales, and two interpersonal scales. Ten of the scales are further organized into subscales intended to assure breadth of coverage within diagnostic constructs. PAI scale and subscale raw scores are linearly transformed to T-scores (mean of 50, standard deviation of 10) to provide interpretation relative to a community standardization sample. Each item on the PAI is rated using a four-alternative scale, ranging from False, Not at all True (F), to Very True (VT). The PAI has practical applications across a variety of assessment specialties, including diagnostic decision-making, treatment planning, forensic evaluation, and personnel selection.